Sea Swim Win for Clontarf at Sea point 30th July 2016

Congratulations to Jim Tracey from Clontarf for winning the Cyril Duff Metro Perpetual Cup organised by Guinness SC at Sea point on the 30th July. Great win following on from last Sundays Team Prize in Malahide, again today we had a great turnout from Clontarf with 7 in the Men’s race (Dario, Martin, Gerry, Brian, Alberto Sean and Jim) and in the Women’s race Ane Rezola who finished 19 in her first sea race, well done to all the swimmers and thanks to Leinster Open Sea, Guinness SC for organising the Event and to the Duff family, this Swim is running since 1995 and had a great turnout in both the Men’s and Women’s Race. This weekend two more Swims are taking place; The Wicklow Open Swim at Wicklow Harbour on Sunday 31st July starting at 12pm and on Monday the Phoenix Swim starting at 10am Low Rock Malahide.

Team prize for Clontarf SC on Sunday 24th July 2016

Great result over the weekend for our Open Sea Swimmers, on Friday night Pierre Tracey came 3rd in the Leinster Open Sea Double Dip swim at Killiney Beach. Then on Sunday Clontarf won the Team Prize with Martin Reddington 5th, Dario Fernandez 15th, Jim Tracey 19th and Gerry Cleary 27th in the International Orphan Aid Charity race at Low Rock Malahide, Clontarf had 7 swimmers participating in both races over the weekend, Well done to all the swimmers. If interested in open water swimming visit the website, sea races take place every weekend throughout the summer.

Killiney Double Dip – Friday July 22 @ 6.45 / 7.30

The Killiney Double Dip Liffey Swim and Harbour swim qualifier is coming up on July 22. Entry fee will be €15 and completing the race gives you a double qualifier – counts as two swims. The race also doubles up to help raise much needed funds for the Leinter Open Sea equipment fund and to aid planning for Dublin City Liffey Swim 100 and more. If you could volunteer a small bit of help for the 22nd please email – if swimming, men could help in ladies race and vice versa.

Liffey Entries Now On Line

Liffey Entries are now available now Online, see . A number of Clontarft Swimmers and almost 200 other swimmers have surpassed six swims and can now enter the Dublin City Liffey Swim and Dun Laoghaire Harbour race Please enter (both) now – and help lighten the admin load on the race organisers by doing so early. Thanks in advance.

26th June – 83rd Island Swim 2016

On the 26th June Clontarf SC hosted for the 83rd time the Island Swim, which starts just off Islands eye and ends at Balscadden beach in Howth, just under 100 swimmers took part in the event both Male and Female. The conditions were just right but the swimmers had to handle the tide pushing them out to sea. With a handicap of 5.30 the race was won by Paul Wynne from Half Moon in a clock time of 26.08 and race time of 20.38. Paul a well deserved winner has competed in this race more than 30 times and came 2nd in 1976. 2nd Place this year went to Ronan Joyce form NAC Masters and 3rd Place went to Rachel Lee from Guinness who also had a fantastic fastest time of 15.42, the team prize went to Aer Lingus Masters. Thanks to all the Volunteers who came out on the day, also thanks to the Dublin Bay Cruises, Leinster Open Sea Committee, Safety Boats and Kayaks. Without volunteers these events are not possible, thanks to all for making this event, which is very special to Clontarf SC another great success, see you all next year.

Club Sea Race Results 25th June

On Saturday June 25th the Club held our internal sea swim along the Bull Wall at Dollymount, ~100 people turned up to take part or support the sea races and then back to Clontarf GAA Club for the prizes and some well deserved food and drinks. Well done to all our swimmers ranging from 5 to 55, some taking to sea swimming for the first time. We had four sea races, the first was the Junior Girls race won by Mia Nolan with Lana Nolan 2nd and Robyn Joyce 3rd, a special thanks to Linda Barton for sponsoring the Girls prizes. Then the Junior Boys race was won by Philippe Tracey 1st, James Tracey 2nd and Jack Dolan 3rd, the Senior boys race was won by Philip Nolan 1st, Leo Costello 2nd and Iollann McKeon 3rd, special thanks to Joe Kearns for the Boys prizes. The Senior race was won by Colm Walsh 1st with Jorn Langhave 2nd and Gerry Cleary 3rd. Thanks to everyone involved on the day, from people who donated prizes, food, to our Chef’s and a big thanks to Clontarf GAA Club. A special mention to Bert O’Brien, Chairman of Leinster Waterpolo who came along and presented our Junior Waterpolo players with their Leinster League winning medals for the U12Mixed, U14Mixed and U14Boys leagues. It was a fantastic day with a great turnout, well done to all enjoy the summer.